Martyrs (2015)

I'm really glad I watched the American version first before watching the French version. Idk how this movie fell off my radar! I know I'm going to hate this movie after watching the original French version because American remakes are notorious for being awful. I liked a lot about this movie. I know that the French version is going to be a lot gorier, but for American gore, this movie did a decent job. I was not expecting this movie to have such a religious aspect (despite the literal name of the movie). I thought it was pretty unique to have a story where women and young girls are being captured to be tortured so they can relay holy visions only they can perceive. I feel like Joan of Arc had to be an influence for this movie as she was tortured and had extreme religious experiences. Now, I hear that this movie is very different from the French version and I didn't expect any less. When Americans remake movies, I feel like they feel more..."corporate"? Like I am sure that French version is a lot more dismal and dirtier. I did like how the movie ended. I interpreted the very end after Lucie dies that Anna is in so much pain that she is exposed to be a Martyr as well. Like Lucie's passing was so intense for her that instead of feeling the physical pain that is normally endured she experienced emotional pain beyond cognition. Damn, Lucie died in such a brutal way in the American remake I'm curious to see how she dies in the original version. I have a feeling that the French version is not as justice-oriented, but hey, I can only hope because that is satisfying. I also like how the movie made you not really trust Lucie in the beginning when she starts her murder spree, but then you see that she was right all along. These people that appeared so normal are part of this horrible cult and it is ironic that all of this is in the name of God. Is this a book? I feel like this would make a good book. Ok, well that is all I have to say for the American version of this film and I'm sure I'll have A LOT to say about the original French version. As I said, I still can't believe I haven't watched either of these!

IMDb rating: 4 out of 10 stars 

My rating: 6.5 out of 10 stars. I just felt like this movie had some really "convenient" parts and didn't hit that dark dismal dread I was hoping for. Again, I heard the French version really delivers!

Comments

Popular Posts